Things I like to do to save the world today, part 3

Parts of the village at Käringön outside Orust...

Parts of the village at Käringön outside Orust, Sweden (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This weekend I went on an outing with my family in a fantastic summerlike weather. We went by car to small village in Orust (a big island located roughly 80 km north of Gothenburg), where we took a ferry to a small beautiful island called Käringön and spent a lovely day. Since I don’t own a car since a couple of years back, I used a car from the carsharing service I’m a member of.

This is simply a wonderful thing! When I retrieved, used and returned the car, I once again was impressed by how efficient their service is. Most of all, I’m so grateful that I don’t need to own a car anymore. Because even if going by car is a good means of transportation, I have always thought that there is a lot of hassle involved in owning a car. By renting a car when I need it, I get the best out of the deal, an easy way of getting from A to B without all the trouble.

It’s not so cheap to use a car from a carsharing service, but it not so cheap to own a car either. According to the Swedish energy authority, Energimyndigheten, it pays off to be a member in a carsharing service and use their cars  if you drive between 2 000 and 11 000 km per year. If you drive less, it’s cheaper to rent a car when you want use one. (Link in Swedish: http://energimyndigheten.se/Hushall/Dina-resor/Bilpool—att-dela-bil/ )

Here’s the link to the carsharing service I use (in Swedish): https://www.sunfleet.com/
Sunfleet has cars in many cities in Sweden. Of course there are other carsharing services as well. If you want to read more about carsharing, there’a always wonderful Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carsharing

This entry was posted in Transportation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

